I seem to be surrounded by people obesessed with burgers. I read about it in blogs, I see them in ad’s, I even taste them in my food reviews (check out Frontera’s Chili Cheese Burger in my food review this week).

Now since I can, and love to cook, I figured what the heck, I’ll make my own. I did, and ever since the pictures have been up on facebook, I’ve had non-stop requests for the secret recipe. Ahem… They don’t call ’em secret for nothing! Nah, just kidding. Let me share with you the recipe that has evolved over generations of BBQ’s and finally passed down to my bony fingers from an Uzbekistan Chef (named Carl) in London.

The Secret Recipe…

Take 1 packet of beef (any) mince. Add 1 chopped red onion (the big kind, not the kuchi-kuchi shallots). Add 3 cloves of chopped garlic. salt, pepper, dried coriander flakes, dijon mustard and ketchup (for added body), and 1 egg to bind. And the secret ingredient – I’d have to kill you if I told you…

Mash all the ingredients up with your own bony fingers and VOILA! PooF! The birth of Aly’s Ultimate burger patty. Wrap in cling film, keep in the fridge or freezer (to chill the shape), depending on when you’re gonna eat it.

So when you’re ready to eat it, get out a pan, toss a knob of butter in (add a little oil first so the butter doesn’t burn) and pan fry till golden brown. Remove from heat, top with your favourite cheese ( I like grated or buffalo mozzarella, or plain ol’ cheddar), then I like to chuck ’em in the oven for an extra 10 mins to grill the cheese, and this also means you can fry you ‘burger special’ egg while the patties cook a little longer. And it means you can toast your burger bun, spread mustard, and get the salad, tomatoes, onions and pickles ready.

Remove from oven. Lay burger, topped with everything else, cover with the top half on the bun, and there you have it. Aly’s Ultimate Burger.You like?

CRAZY FOOD 167

Bon Apetite!

