Jimmy Choo – The shoes that make a woman

Jimmy Choo… the name is synonymous with shoes. Think high end fashion, think Jimmy Choo.

I spent many years in London, not ever daring to step into one of the stylish stores, with glistening shoes, pristinely displayed in the windows. They taunted me, they tempted me, but I never succumbed. Well, to be quite honest with you at £ 400 a pair, I just plain couldn’t afford it.

Then last week, I met the man himself. By sheer chance, (now knighted by the Sultan of Pahang ) Dato’ Jimmy Choo graced the StarRFM offices with his presence for an interview with our sister Chinese station, 988. I jumped at the chance to meet him, and was slightly embarrassed at my choice of footwear for the day.

“What size do you wear?” he asked politely, trying not to stare at my underdressed and pathetically clothed feet. “I will make you something suitable.”

I couldn’t believe it. After all those years of longing, there they were, a pair of Jimmy Choo’s within my reach.

What you have to understand is that the brand Jimmy Choo, and the man himself, are no longer the same person. In April 2001, Choo sold his 50% stake in the company for £10 million. He has since been concentrating his work on the exclusive Jimmy Choo Couture line produced under license from Jimmy Choo Ltd. Most recently, the fashion community paid tribute to him by bestowing the Mercedes-Benz Stylo “Most Iconic Fashion Mentor” award from the Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Nur Zahirah at the Stylo Fashion Grand Prix opening.

I’m having visions of Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw, in Sex and the City.  Running to catch the Staten Island Ferry, Carrie loses a shoe and cries “Wait! I lost my Jimmy Choos!” as the boat pulls away from the pier.

When I get my shoes, I will find a ferry, perhaps the one that crosses from Butterworth to Penang. I will put on my Jimmy Choo’s and reenact that scene from Sex and the City.

After all, it is the shoes that make a woman. And it is the man, Jimmy Choo that makes the shoes. I, like Carrie Bradshaw, must pay him tribute.

