My Ever-Changing Tastebuds

When I was at school, I used to adore Fridays. Fridays were McDonald’s days. That meant a lunch not just of a Double Cheeseburger, but of my favourite strange food combination, McDonalds Fries and Hot Fudge Sundae.

My friends used to look at me like I was the most disgusting person on earth, but I didn’t care. The pure pleasure that I derived from this simple combination of food would set the precedence for a great weekends. Oh, and if you take the pickle out of the burger and have it together, it’s heaven.

A couple of days ago, I got and SMS from a listener saying, basically, that after following me on twitter and facebook, and my blog, she realized that I like eating a lot of ‘weird’ food. Prawn heads being a slight obsession, it got me thinking that my tastebuds have changed since I was younger.

I can’t remember the last time I had fries with a sundae, and now would rather indulge in more ‘grown up’ food like Foie Gras (liver of the duck or goose kind), Tobikko (Flying fish roe), Siew Yoke (belly), strong smelling cheeses like Blue or a very ripe Brie, Truffles, and of course, the number one cholesterol trigger, Prawn heads.

It got me thinking of the things I used to love to eat when I was younger, and you know what, I think it might be time to revisit some, it not all of these! Here are 5 very different ‘weird’ food combinations as I progressed through life…

Curry flavoured Maggi Mee with a slice of melted Kraft Cheddar Cheese (after high-school snack)

Mashed potatoes mixed with green peas and ketchup, lots of black pepper (boarding school!)

Blueberry pancakes with bacon, fried egg and ketchup + Maple Syrup (very British Sunday Brunch, and similar to a sausage egg McMuffin!)


Homemade crepes stuffed with garlic spinach, feta cheese, drizzled with maple syrup (Aly Original Recipe at university)

Salty Popcorn with mint chocolate, or Sweet Popcorn with with Salted Pretzels (all time favourite cinema snacks)

Apart from the Maggi Mee, the one common thread in all these dishes is a sweet-savoury mix. Ahhh.. the best of both worlds.

What about you? What do you like to eat? Xx aly

