The Quest for The Perfect Sang Har Noodles

*Extract from www.alyswonderland.com

I was first introduced to Sang Har Noodles at Soo Kee Mee Stall at Imbi. It was love at first sight. Sigh… One look at those luscious Freshwater Prawns, dripping with a thick, eggy sauce, perch atop a mountain of noodles…

I was hooked. I am a lover of prawns anyway, so imagine my delight when I discovered a dish that actually incorporates prawn head into the sauce. I’ve figured out that you can tell a good Sang Har Noodle gravy just by the colour. The roe from the head, when cooked, seeps out and stains the gravy a delicate peachy pink.

I decided to embark on a quest to find ‘The Perfect Sang Har Noodles’, purely for selfish reasons.

Soo Kee is famous for its Sang Har Meen, and Beef Koay Teow. Some even say it’s the best in town, and it has been around for about 60 years. My first experience there was wonderful, but then again I had nothing to compare it to. With every visit, the Prawns remained giant, fresh and succulent, while the noodles always crisp and tasty.

Next on the list, Imbi Road Soo Kee @ Restoran Sun Huat Kee, Lucky Gardens. I dragged Terry (Red FM Drive) with me.

Presentation wise, top marks. The Sang Har Meen was like a work of art. Taste wise, it was good, but not rich  enough.

When I started my quest for the perfect Sang Har Noodles, everybody told me I must go to Restoran Greenview, near the Rothman’s Roundabout. Our Sang Har Meen arrived, and the prawns were small, the sauce bland, and it was definitely missing that oomph!

Then it happened. I could barely breathe for the excitement of finally ending my Quest for the Perfect Sang Har Noodles. We took the drive to Restoran Pan Heong, Medan Batu Caves and the Sang Har Koay Teow exceeded my expectations.

In the words of Johnny Bravo, “Oh, MAMA!” Succulent prawns, drowned in the perfect pink, prawn head flavoured gravy…


Oh yes, the Quest for the Perfect Sang Har Noodles is over… I shall return again soon to satisfy that craving.

Are you hungry now? Hehe.

xx aly

